Homemade Pasta

Pasta is one of those things that my master started to make, back in the day when he had his pastry shop. In his rural Bavarian area, his was pretty much the only shop where you could get small-batch-made real Italian-style semolina-pasta (oops, sorry for all those hyphenated words, I got a little carried away).

Recently, I did a batch of homemade fettuccine, and without special tools, it was a pain in the butt. But store-bought pasta tastes like cardboard! Especially the whole grain pasta that I recently acquired…

Well, I finally bought a pasta maker. I was considering for a long time whether or not I should buy the KitchenAid attachments for my stand mixer. There are two different kinds of KitchenAid accessories, pasta rollers and the pasta extruder for the food grinder attachment. In the end, I decided to save me some money and just get the $35 hand-crank pasta maker from my local Bed Bath & Beyond. I read so many horror stories about the extruder, and the pasta rollers are just WAY too expensive if you ask me…

Anyway, you shouldn’t clean pasta makers with water, so I decided to make a first batch of very simple pasta dough (using a recipe in the user’s guide) to clean the machine and maybe use the rest for some homemade pasta. It’s really just water and flour (which I normally find less desirable then the egg-semolina-version, but for cleaning purposes this was more appropriate), but still, the noodles taste SOO much better than store-bought dry pasta…

OK, this is more like an appetizer-post, since the actual content is pretty thin. I’ll be back with more pasta!

~ by Benedikt on September 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
